I thought chapter 1 of the "How Learning Works" book was very interesting. I enjoyed learning the different strategies that educators can use to determine students' prior knowledge. In our building we are preparing our district for the 2014-2015 merit pay and evaluation procedures. Currently we are using the pre and post tests to determine students' prior knowledge as well as the clickers. I also try to meet with my colleagues in the high school building to collaborate ideas on how students are adapting to new classes, lessons, and classroom procedures. After reading about collaborating with teachers about their previous year with each student it makes sense to ask instructors how they teach that specific class (powerpoint, lecture, hands on learning). I have noticed that each of my students learn differently and they always have one class that they struggle with, because they are unable to learn the material if they are a kinesthetic, visual, or auditory learner. I think it is great when a teacher tries to incorporate all three of these types of learning in the classroom. It helps to ensure that each student is going to grasp the material in one way or another.
Sheri
9/9/2012 06:30:02 am

I think your idea about using clickers to identify prior knowledge is an excellent strategy. Not only do you learn about their level of knowledge, it also adds fun and gets the students more actively involved in their learning. Great idea and teaching strategy.

Reply
9/10/2012 10:30:01 pm

Katie,
Since I teach at the same school I too work with the students on pre and post tests. I know that I need to work harder on the differentiation aspect of my teacher and may come to you for help in that area. It would be nice to know which students are strongest in which categories of learning.

Reply
Daina
9/10/2012 11:39:18 pm

I think you are spot-on in your comment that students learn differently. Whenever possible, we should always try to incorporate the three types of learning. Sometimes it just takes having the information presented in a different way to make that transfer of knowledge "click".

Reply
Johann
9/11/2012 02:59:57 am

Certain subjects, say literature and science, need to taught a certain way to appeal to all students. A student who is more of a visual learner would tend to be better at science than literature. To get a visual learner more interested and motivated to learn about literature, certain steps and accommodations need to be taken.

Reply



Leave a Reply.